Burnham Grammar School is an academy and part of the Beeches Learning and Development Trust. Each school within Beeches Learning and Development Trust is managed by its local governing body and the Senior Leadership Team of the school.

Working in partnership with the Headteacher and staff, governors ensure high standards of achievement for the young people in the school. We focus on strategy and school improvement; we decide what we want the school to achieve, set priorities and monitor progress to realise these aims.

We have three core strategic functions delegated to us by Beeches Learning and Development Trust Board:

  • Setting the vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school, within the context of Beeches Learning and Development Trust
  • Holding the Headteacher and senior staff to account for the educational performance of the school and its students
  • Ensuring the school remains within the budget delegated by Beeches Learning and Development Trust and making sure the money is well spent.


The current committee of Governors for the school is as follows:

Governor Committee Membership Office Held  Date of Appointment  Term To
Manu Bajaj Curriculum, Educational Visits, Finance, Teaching Learning & Pastoral, Personnel Pupil Premium, Careers/Gatsby 03/05/19 02/05/23

Alison Bell 


Audit (chair), curriculum, Pay and Performance, Personnel (chair), Personnel Pay and Review (chair), Premises Health and Safety, Complaints Data Protection (BLDT) 09/10/18 13/3/23

Amarpreet Dhaliwal


Parent Governor    06/03/20 05/03/24

Veninder Dhariwal


Parent Governor   06/03/20 05/03/24

Shirley Foster


Curriculum, Teaching Learning and Pastoral Development Governor 01/09/19 31/08/23

Andy Frith


Admissions, Finance and Lettings, Pay/Performance, Personnel, Personnel Pay Review, Marketing and CL WG Chair, Child Protection/Safeguarding 27/09/11 18/11/24

Andy Gillespie


Admissions, Finance and Lettings, Personnel, Personnel Pay Review, Marketing & CL WG, School Travel Plan WG   ex officio ex officio

Wayne Goldsmith


Parent Governor    06/03/20 05/03/24

Matt Gordon-Smith


Parent Governor   18/02/21 17/02/25

Gulzar Hanspal


Co-opted    16/02/22 15/02/26

Iffat Khalid


    16/11/2018 15/11/22

Lola Owolabi


Teaching Learning and Pastoral, Personnel, Complaints Equality, Diversity, Community Cohesion, English/Literacy 09/10/18 08/10/22

Savita Rana


Teaching Learning & Pastoral, Personnel, Marketing Careers/Gatsby, Equality/Diversity/Community 09/02/21 08/02/25

Cecile Searle 


Finance, Premises & Health & Safety, Marketing, Maths, Travel Plan  Maths/Numeracy, Travel Plan 17/01/20 16/01/24

Lara Tehabsim 


Parent Governor Whistleblowing  18/02/21 17/02/25

Nick Walker


Audit, Curriculum, Educational Visits (chair), Finance and Lettings (chair), Pay/Performance, Complaints Careers and Sixth Form 04/02/10 01/03/24

Tracy Wrycraft 

(Teaching Staff)

    22/02/21 21/02/25

Marilyn Goater


Educational Visits, Marketing SEND, LAC 04/07/19 03/07/22

Harman Hunjan


  Careers/Gatsby 28/01/20 N/A

Please note the below governor election/resignation dates for the past twelve months: 

  • 18/02/21 Matt Gordon Smith & Lara Tehabsim elected unopposed as Parent Governors 
  • 22/02/21 Tracy Wrycraft elected unopposed as a Teaching Staff Governor
  • 31/08/21 Steph Banks (Teaching Staff Governor) Term Ended due to resignation
  • 31/12/21 Charlie Whieldon (Co-opted) Term Ended 
  • 16/02/22 Gulzar Hanspal appointed by Trustees as a Governor (Co-opted)


For information regarding Trustees and Members of the Beeches Learning and Development Trust, please view the BLDT section of the website

To view the Confirmation Statement, Articles of Association, Memorandum of Association, Appointment of Directors and current audited accounts, please click here: 

To view attendance at governor meetings, please see page 20 of 'Full Accounts Made up to 31 August 2019', which can be accessed via the above link.